Brookhaven High School

Skip to main content

Brenda Sasser

 

Classes

Recent Posts

FRAGMENTS/RUN-ONS /THE OPEN WINDOW

MONDAY 18-22, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, March 18

  • Discuss sentence fragments
  • Answer comprehension questions on “The Open Window”

Tuesday, March 19

  • Discuss run-on sentences and complete teacher guided practice
  • Complete irony chart and write an academic summary on short story

Wednesday, March 20

  • Complete sentence fragment and run-on sentence practice
  • Write essay on story on irony in story

Thursday, March 21

  • Students out for report card day

Friday, March 22

  • Fragment/run-on test
  • “The Open Window” test

MODIFIERS/EXAMS

March 4-8, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, March 4

  • MAP PRACTICE –“The Manhattan Project”
  • Read article for essay on Tuesday

Tuesday, March 5

  • Write essay on GULLIVER’S TRAVELS

Wednesday, March 6

  • Exam review

Thursday, March 7

  • FIRST AND THIRD EXAM
  • SECOND BLOCK – misplaced and dangling modifier test

FRIDAY, March 8

  • SECOND BLOCK EXAM
  • FIRST BLOCK – misplaced and dangling modifier test

 

MISPLACED/DANGLING MODIFIERS/MAP PRACTICE/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

FEBRUARY 25- MARCH 1

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, February 25

  • Compile GREAT EXPECTATIONS assignments
  • Review for GREAT EXPECTATIONS TEST

Tuesday, February 26

  • GE portfolio is due
  • GE test

Wednesday, February 27

  • Discuss misplaced modifiers
  • Complete guided practice on mm

Thursday, February 28

  • Complete activities on misplaced modifiers

Friday, March 1

  • MAP PRACTICE – SCIENTIFIC ARTICLE

 

GREAT EXPECTATIONS/CLAUSES

FEBRUARY 18-22, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Tuesday, February 19

  • Stage three test for GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  • Review adverb clauses
  • In groups, complete all character charts and understanding setting
  • HOMEWORK – COMPLETE ACTIVITIES FOR VOCABULARY 7

Wednesday, February 20

  • Review vocabulary homework
  • Adverb clause test
  • Complete GREAT EXPECTATIONS unit

Thursday, February 21

  • Complete puzzle on novel
  • Complete identifying expectations chart
  • Vocabulary 7 test
  • In groups, work on study guide for GREAT EXPECTATIONS test

Friday, February 22

  • MAP PRACTICE – BROWN VS. THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CLAUSES/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

FEBRUARY 11-15, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, February 11

  • Quiz on chapters 40-49 of GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  • Complete activities on ACT vocabulary #6

Tuesday, February 12

  • Discuss independent and dependent clauses and adjective clauses
  • Complete activities on independent and dependent clauses and adjective clauses

Wednesday, February 13

  • Complete activities on adjective clauses
  • Begin discussion of adverb clauses

Thursday, February 14

  • Complete adverb clauses
  • Vocabulary #6 test

Friday, February 15

  • MAP PRACTICE – informational text - Miranda Rights
  • Introduce noun clauses
  • All assignments for chapters 50-59 on GREAT EXPECTATIONS is due

 

 

VERBALS/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

FEBRUARY 4-8, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, February 4

  • Stage two test on GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  • Complete activities on ACT vocabulary #5
  • Finished essay is due

Tuesday, February 5

  • Discuss gerunds and complete activities
  • Review participles

Wednesday, February 6

  • Discuss infinitives and complete activities
  • Review participles and gerunds

Thursday, February 7

  • Phrase test
  • Work on assignments on GREAT EXPECTATIONS

Friday, February 8

  • Voc # 5 test
  • GREAT EXPECTATIONS assignments are due
  • MAP practice – “The Open Window”

PHRASES/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

JANUARY 28-FEBRUARY 1

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, January 28

  • Quiz on chapters 20-29 of Great Expectations
  • Complete activities on ACT vocabulary # 4
  • Write introduction on argumentative essay on “Ain’t I a Woman”

Tuesday, January 29

  • Discuss participles
  • Complete guided practice on participles
  • Combine sentences using participles
  • Write body paragraph for essay

Wednesday, January 30

  • Discuss gerunds
  • Complete guided practice on gerunds
  • Combine sentences using gerunds
  • Write conclusion for essay

Thursday, January 31

  • Discuss infinitives
  • Complete guided practice on infinitives
  • ACT #4 voc test

Friday, February 1

  • Phrase test
  • MAP PRACTICE
  • Chapters 30-39, active reading, and vocabulary are due on GREAT EXPECTATIONS

GREAT EXPECTATIONS/PHRASES

January 22-25, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, January 21

MLK holiday

Tuesday, January 22

GREAT EXPECTATIONS STAGE ONE TEST

ACT vocabulary # 3 – complete activities using  the words

Wednesday, January 23

Discuss appositives -  complete activities and combine sentences to create appositives

Thursday, January 24

Discuss participles

Complete handout

Combine sentences to show use of particples

Friday, January 25

ACT voc #3 test

MAP PRACTICE – “The Gettysburg Address”

GREAT EXPECTATIONS/PUNCTUATION/VOCABULARY

JANUARY 14-18, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, January 14

  • Quiz on chapters 1-9 0f GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  • Complete ACT vocabulary 2 activities

Tuesday, January 15

  • Discuss and complete activities on semicolons and colons

Wednesday, January16

  • Review comma, semicolon , and colon rules
  • TEST ON COMMAS, SEMICOLONS, AND COLONS

Thursday, January 17

  • ACT vocabulary 2 test
  • Work on GREAT EXPECTATIONS material

Friday, January 18

  • MAP PRACTICE – “What Teachers Make” and “The Teenage Brains”
  • Chapters 10-19, active reading, and vocabulary for GREAT EXPECTATIONS is due

 

COMMAS/ACT VOCABULARY/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

January 7-11, 2019

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, January 7

  • MAP PRACTICE -“Sojourner Truth”
  • Distribute material on GREAT EXPECTATIONS

Tuesday, January 8

  • Complete activities for ACT vocabulary # 1
  • Review answers for vocabulary
  • HOMEWORK-READ AND ANNOTATE “MEETING THE AUTHOR” AND “INTRODUCING THE NOVEL”

Wednesday, January 9

  • Begin discussion on comma rules
  • Complete pages 1-10 of handout giving rule for each comma

Thursday, January 10

  • Complete comma packet
  • Discuss colon and semicolons

Friday, January 11

  • ACT vocabulary 1 test
  • Chapters 1-9 questions, active reading, and vocabulary due on GREAT EXPECTATIONS
  • Complete practice on colons and semicolons
  • Remind them of quiz on chapters 1-9 on Monday

 

EXAM WEEK

DECEMBER 17-21, 2018

MONDAY, December 17, 2018

  • Review MAP practice from Friday on “A Modest Proposal”
  • Read and annotate “THE CELEBRATED JUMPING FROG OF CALAVERAS COUNTY”
  • Answer comprehension questions on the story

Tuesday, December 18

  • MAP practice on story
  • Complete story elements handout on story
  • Review for exam - no review needed – the exam is a cold read

Wednesday, December 19

  • EXAMS 1 AND 2

Thursday, December 210

  • EXAMS 3 AND 4

Frida, December 21

  • Make up day for missed exams

ACT V JULIUS CAESAR

DECEMBER 10-14, 2018

MONDAY, DECEMBER 10

  • COMPILATION OF CAESAR PORTFOLIO

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 11

  • BLOOD/DEATH LIST IS DUE
  • CAESAR TEST

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 12

  • MAP SCREENER IN LIBRARY

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13

  • READ “A MODEST PROPOSAL” BY JONATHAN SWIFT
  • ANSWER QUESTIONS

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 14

  • READ “THE CELEBRATED JUMPING FROG OF CALAVERAS COUNTY” BY MARK TWAIN
  • ANSWER QUESTIONS

EXAM WEEK

DECEMBER 17-21,2018

Monday, December 17

  • MAP practice on “The Celebrated Jumping of Calaveras County”
  • Read and annotate informative text as practice – ACT review

Tuesday, December 18

  • Exam review

Wednesday, December 19

  • Exams 1 and 3

Thursday, December 20

  • Exams 1 and 4

Friday, December 21

  • Exam makeup day

 

JULIUS CAESAR ACT V

DECEMBER 3-7, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, December 3

  • Listen to Act V
  • Complete vocabulary
  • Complete blood and death list

Tuesday, December 4

  • Complete text analysis, tragic hero handout, and crossword puzzle on Act V

Wednesday, December 5

  • Vocabulary test
  • Complete review for Act V and skills sheet

Thursday, December 6

  • Act V test
  • Complete TOP TEN QUOTES and WHO AM I?

Friday, December 7

  • Complete review of Acts IV and V
  • Complete review for CAESAR test

ACT IV JULIUS CAESAR

NOVEMBER 26-30, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

 

Monday, November 26

  • Read and annotate “Caesar’s Legacy” and “second Triumvirate”
  • Answer questions

Tuesday, November 27

  • Listen to Act IV
  • Complete vocabulary handout
  • Work on blood/death list

Wednesday, November 28

  • Complete general questions
  • Complete review for Act IV
  • Complete explanation of quotes from the act

Thursday, November 29

  • Vocabulary tes
  • Complete skills sheet
  • Complete handout on Triumvirate decisions, Scene ii, and argument chart

Friday, November 30

  • Act IV test
  • Write academic summary