Brookhaven High School

Skip to main content

Brenda Sasser

 

Classes

Recent Posts

ACT REVIEW/ EXAMS

MAY 14-18, 2018

Monday, May 14

  • ACT English practice
  • Time students on practice

Tuesday, May 15

  • Review English answers
  • ACT reading practice

Wednesday, May 16

  • Review reading answers for ACT reading practice

Thursday, May 17

  • Complete grammar evaluation 1, 2, and 3
  • Review answers

Friday, May 18

  • Tell exemptions
  • Review for exam

 

Monday, May21

  • 1st and 2nd blocks exams

Tuesday, May 22

  • 3rd and 4th exams

 

 

"A Worn Path"/ACT review

MAY 7- 11, 2018

Monday, May 7

  • Read “a Worn Path” by Eudora Welty
  • Answer first comprehension questions
  • And discussion questions

Tuesday, May 8

  • Write thank you notes for TEACHER APPRECIATION DAY
  • Complete questions
  • Complete analytical revision for the story

Wednesday, May 9

  • Complete literary analysis on theme and vocabulary activity

Thursday, May 10

  • Test on story
  • Review pronoun ambiguity

Friday, May 12

  • ACT review using grammar rules

 

 

"A Rose for Emily" and activities

APRIL 30 – MAY 4

Monday, April 30

  • Read and annotate “A Rose for Emily” by William Faulkner
  • Complete “questions”

Tuesday, May 1

  • Complete vocabulary for sentences
  • Complete comprehension questions and sequence of events chart

Wednesday, May 2

  • Complete trait chart on Miss Emily
  • Complete timeline, Gothic element chart
  • Complete story map

Thursday, May 3

  • Vocabulary quiz
  • Complete flashcards
  • Complete academic summary, character analysis, or analytical paragraph

Friday, May 4

  • Test on “A Rose for Emily”

 

TEST STATE/ "THE FALL OF THE HOUSE USHER"

APRIL 23-27

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, April 23

  • Review test taking skills using a MAP practice
  • Review tone and figurative language
  • MULTIPLE CHOICE SECTION OF ENGLISH STATE TEST

Tuesday, April 24

  • Review writing strategies
  • Review context clues and text structure
  • WRITING SECTION OF STATE TEST

Wednesday, April 25

  • Read “The Fall of the House of Usher”
  • Answer comprehension questions while reading

Thursday, April 26

  • Review answers to comprehension questions
  • GROUP WORK – complete “Interpreting Poe’s House”

Friday, April 27

  • Complete dream chart

       . Complete character analysis handout

 

PRONOUN AMBIGUITY/ MAP PRACTICE AND REVIEW

APRIL 16-20

Monday, April 16

  • Review theme #26-32
  • Begin pronoun ambiguity
  • MAP PRACTICE – THE MAYAN CIVILIZATION

Tuesday, April 17

  • Review theme using #33-36 / context clues
  • Pronoun ambiguity practice
  • MAP PRACTICE – ANDROCLES

Wednesday, April 18

  • Review tone #1-10
  • Pronoun ambiguity
  • MAP PRACTICE – COMPLETE PART II OF ANDROCLES

Thursday, April 19

  • Review figurative language
  • Review activities on pronoun ambiguity
  • Discuss ANDROCLES answers

Friday, April 20

  • Pronoun ambiguity test
  • Review text structures

MAP PRACTICE/S/V AGREEMENT

APRIL 9-13, 2018

Monday, April 9

  • Bell ringer – activity on author’s purpose #2, 1-8
  • Diagnostic verb quiz
  • Begin subject/verb agreement –rules 1-3

Tuesday, April 10

  • Bell ringer – author’s purpose #2, 9-15
  • Subject/verb agreement – rules 4-6
  • MAP PRACTICE – FORENSIC SCIENCE

Wednesday, April 11

  • Bell ringer – purpose # 3, 1-8
  • s/v agreement rules 7-10

Thursday, April 12

  • Bell ringer purpose , practice #3, 9-11
  • MAP PRACTICE – SWISS FAMILY ROBINSON-IS IT A BIRD

Friday, April 13

  • Bell ringer – main idea
  • S/v agreement test
  • Review writing process

 

 

PARALLELISM/ESSAY/VOCABULARY/MAP

APRIL 2-6, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, April 2

  • Easter break

Tuesday, April 3

  • Lesson 3 vocabulary activities
  • Begin review of MAP – SUSAN B. ANTHONY
  • Discuss parallelism

Wednesday, April 4

  • Complete parallelism activities
  • ESSAY – COMPARE/CONTRAST – write introduction and body paragraph one

Thursday, April 5

  • Essay – write body paragraph two and conclusion
  • Lesson 3 vocabulary test

Friday, April 6

  • Map practice – informational text – BROWN vs. BOARD OF EDUCATION
  • Parallelism test

MISPLACED/DANGLING MODIFIERS/MAP PRACTICE

MARCH 26-30, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, March 26

  • Complete activities on lesson two vocabulary
  • Continue work with misplaced and dangling modifiers

Tuesday, March 27

  • Complete work with misplaced and dangling modifiers
  • MAP PRACTICE – COMPLETE FIRST HALF OF INFORMATIONAL TEXT ON SUSAN B. ANTHONY

Wednesday, March 28

  • Modifier test
  • MAP PRACTICE – COMPLETE SECOND HALF OF SUSAN B. ANTHONY

Thursday, March 29

  • Lesson two vocabulary quiz
  • MAP PRACTICE INFORMATIONAL TEXT

Friday, March 30

  • EASTER BREAK

 

 

ADVERB CLAUSES/MISPLACED MODIFIERS/MAP PRACTICE

March 19-23, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, March 19

  • Continue work on adverb clauses
  • Complete activity for vocabulary #1

Tuesday, March 20

  • Test on adverb clauses
  • Begin misplaced modifiers

Wednesday, March 21

  • Continue with misplaced modifiers
  • Daily grade on figurative language

Thursday, March 22

  • Vocabulary test
  • Misplaced modifier test

Friday, March 23

  • Practice MAP test – “The Fall of the House of Usher”

EXAM WEEK

March 5-9, 2018

Monday, March 5

  • Complete selection test on “The Open Window”
  • Map questions on the story
  • Complete analytical paragraph on story

Tuesday, March 6

  • Exam review using The Jungle, Gift from the Sea, and Walden

Wednesday, March 7

  • Exam review using the “Are We Causing Antibiotic Resistance by Trying to Prevent It”

Thursday, March 9

  • Writing portion of exam

Friday, March 9

  • Multiple choice section of exam

 

 

MAP PRACTICE USING INFORMATIONAL AND LITERARYTEXTS

February 26-March 2, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, February 26

  • MAP practice – read historical informational text THE BILL OF RIGHTS
  • Chart the amendments that deal with individuals and the states
  • Paraphrase each amendment
  • Complete first set of questions on the Bill of rights( explain why answers are incorrect)
  • Remind students that ACT crossword puzzle words are the vocabulary words for this week

Tuesday, February 27

  • Begin adverb clauses – use first handout
  • As a test grade, complete second set of questions on the Bill of Rights
  • Map essay – explain which right is most important and defend choice. Cite textual evidence.

Wednesday, February 28

  • Complete essay – use only the first 30 minutes for this
  • Complete second handout on adverb clauses
  • Begin reading Saki’s “The Open Window” MAP practice using a literary text
  • Complete character chart for VERA, FRAMTON, and MRS. NUTTEL

Thursday, March 1

  • ACT #1 vocabulary test
  • Answer comprehension questions on “The Open Window” in groups
  • Complete story map

Friday, March 2

  • Complete character analysis on VERA or FRAMTON
  • Complete summary of story

 

 

 

 

GREAT EXPECTATIONS/MAP PRACTICE

February 19-23, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 19

  • STUDENTS OUT OF SCHOOL

Tuesday, February 20

  • Complete comprehensive review for Great Expectations test
  • MAP practice – Bill of Rights

Wednesday, February 21

  • Students will compile portfolio and turn in
  • Complete puzzle on Great Expectations

Thursday, February 22

  • Great Expectations unit work

Friday, February 23

  • Great Expectations test

CLAUSES/MAP PRACTICE

February 12-16, 2018

aACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, February 12

  • Review MAP practice test
  • ACT vocabulary 5 activities
  • Identify independent and dependent clauses

Tuesday, February 13

  • Begin discussion of adjective clauses
  • Complete activities on adjective clauses

Wednesday, February 14

  • Begin discussion of adverb clauses
  • Complete activities on adverb clauses

Thursday, February 15

  • ACT voc # 5 quiz
  • Continue discussion of clauses

Friday, February 16

  • MAP PRACTICE
  • Begin noun clauses
  • GREAT EXPECTATIONS chapters 50-59, Active Reading, and vocabulary are due

MAP PRACTICE/fragments/run-ons

February 5-9, 2018

ACT bell ringers each day

Monday, February 5

  • Complete ACT vocabulary 4 activities and discuss
  • Discuss run-ons
  • Complete run-on activities
  • stage two test on GREAT EXPECTATIONS

Tuesday, February 6

  • Review fragments, comma splices, and run-ons
  • Comma ACT review

Wednesday, February 7

  • Fragments and run-ons test
  • Work on GREAT EXPECTATIONS questions

Thursday, February 8

  • Map practice (multiple choice questions)
  • ACT voc 4 test

Friday, February 9

  • Map essay writing as practice

PHRASES/RUN-ONS/GREAT EXPECTATIONS

January 29- February 2, 2018

ACT BELL RINGERS EACH DAY

Monday, January 29

  • ACT vocabulary #4 activities
  • Infinitive activities
  • Review for test on phrases

Tuesday, January 30

  • Phrase test
  • Discuss fragments and complete handouts

Wednesday, January 30

  • Discuss fused sentences and comma splices
  • Complete activities on all run-ons

Thursday, February 1

  • Complete review on run-ons
  • MAP practice
  • ACT voc # 4 test

Friday, February 2

  • Chapters 30-39 of GREAT EXPECTATIONS is due
  • Fragment and run-on test